Exchange Rate Policy

 

CBK's policy for the Kuwaiti Dinar (KD) exchange rate aims at maintaining and enhancing the relative stability of the KD against other currencies, and shielding the domestic economy against the impacts of imported inflation. These responsibilities reflect the importance of the exchange rate policy in the Kuwaiti economy where no restrictions are imposed on the movement of capital.

During the period from 18 March 1975 to the end of the year 2002, CBK adopted an exchange rate policy pegging the KD to a weighted basket of major currencies. That policy based the determination of the KD exchange rate on a special weighted basket of currencies of the countries that have significant trade and financial relations with the State of Kuwait. This policy proved to be effective in achieving a high degree of relative stability of the KD exchange rate against major world currencies.

Between 5 January 2003 and 19 May 2007, the KD was pegged to the US Dollar according to the Decree No. 266/2002 stipulating the peg of the KD exchange rate to the US Dollar within margins around a parity rate effective the beginning of the year 2003. The Governor at that time, H.E. Sheikh Salem Abdulaziz Al-Sabah, announced the parity rate of the KD exchange rate against the US Dollar for the first day of business in January 2003 corresponding to Sunday 5 January 2003. The exchange rate was set at 299.63 fils per dollar with margins of ±3.5%. This parity rate was set based on the same principles and considerations approved historically by CBK in determining the KD exchange rate under the previous system of the currency basket in order to ensure a smooth change from the currency basket peg to the dollar peg within margins.

Effective 20 May 2007 by virtue of the Decree No. 147/2007, the KD exchange rate was repegged to an undisclosed weighted basket of international currencies of Kuwait's major trade and financial partner countries. Reverting to the exchange rate policy followed prior to 2003 aims at protecting the purchasing power of the national currency and containing inflationary pressures affecting the local economy, after having exhausted all attempts to absorb the adverse effects of US Dollar depreciation against major currencies for an extended period of time.

Average Exchange Rate of Kuwait Dinar Against U.S. Dollar (Fils)

Period Exchange Rate
1986 290.53
1987 278.86
1988 278.94
1989 293.74
1990 291.24
1991 289.19
1992 293.30
1993 301.32
1994 297.62
1995 298.46
1996 299.42
1997 303.36
1998 304.79
1999 304.38
2000 306.79
2001 306.54
2002 303.97
2003 298.07
2004 294.07
2005 292.00
2006 290.20
2007 284.28
2008 268.54
2009 287.72
2010 286.64
2011 276.01
2012 279.91
2013 283.57
2014 284.49
2015 300.79
2016 302.16

Last Update Date: 06/02/2017

سياسة سعر الصرف

 

تهدف سياسة بنك الكويت المركزي الخاصة بسعر صرف الدينار الكويتي (KD) إلى المحافظة على الاستقرار النسبي لسعر صرف الدينار الكويتي مقابل العملات الأخرى وتعزيز هذا الاستقرار، وكذلك حماية الاقتصاد المحلي من آثار التضخم المستورد، مما يعكس أهمية سعر الصرف بالنسبة للاقتصاد الكويتي الذي لا يفرض أية قيود على حركة رؤوس الأموال.

وقد انتهج بنك الكويت المركزي طوال الفترة الممتدة من 18 مارس 1975 حتى نهاية العام 2002، سياسة ربط سعر صرف الدينار الكويتي بسلة مرجحة من العملات العالمية. وطبقاً لهذه السياسة يقوم بنك الكويت المركزي بتحديد سعر صرف الدينار بناء على سلة خاصة مرجحة من عملات الدول التي ترتبط بعلاقات تجارية ومالية مهمة مع دولة الكويت. وقد أثبتت تلك السياسة فعاليتها في تحقيق درجة عالية من الاستقرار النسبي في سعر صرف الدينار الكويتي مقابل العملات العالمية الرئيسية.

وخلال الفترة من 5 يناير 2003 حتى 19 مايو 2007، تم ربط الدينار الكويتي بالدولار الأمريكي ضمن هوامش محددة بموجب المرسوم الأميري رقم 266/2002، الذي ينص على ربط سعر صرف الدينار الكويتي بالدولار الأمريكي ضمن هوامش حول سعر التعادل وذلك مع بداية العام 2003 . فكان المحافظ في ذلك الوقت ، سعادة الشيخ سالم عبدالعزيز الصباح قد أعلن سعر التعادل لصرف الدينار الكويتي مقابل الدولار الامريكي لأول يوم عمل من يناير 2003 والموافق الاحد 5 يناير 2003. حيث حدد سعر الصرف عند 299.63 فلس لكل دولار و بهامش ( - / + ) 3.5 % ، وذلك استناداً إلى نفس الأسس والاعتبارات التي دأب بنك الكويت المركزي على تطبيقها في تحديد سعر صرف الدينار الكويتي بموجب نظام سلة العملات، وذلك لضمان سلاسة الانتقال من ربط سعر صرف الدينار بسلة من العملات المرجحة إلى ربطه بالدولار الأمريكي ضمن هوامش محددة.

وبدء من 20 مايو 2007 و بموجب المرسوم رقم 147/2007 ، تم اعادة ربط سعر صرف الدينار الكويتي بسلة غير مفصح عنها ومرجحة من العملات العالمية لاهم الشركاء التجاريين والماليين لدولة الكويت. إن العودة لسياسة سعر الصرف المتبعة قبل 2003 جاءت بهدف المحافظة على القوة الشرائية للعملة الوطنية واحتواء أثار الضغوط التضخمية على الاقتصاد المحلي. وذلك بعد استنفاد جميع المحاولات لامتصاص الاثار غير المواتية من الانخفاض المتواصل للدولار الامريكي آنذاك مقابل العملات الرئيسية الاخرى.

متوسط سعر صرف الدينار الكويتي مقابل الدولار الأمريكي (فلس)

المدة سعر صرف
2017 303.35
2016 302.16
2015 300.79
2014 284.49
2013 283.57
2012 279.91
2011 276.01
2010 286.64
2009 287.72
2008 268.54
2007 284.28
2006 290.20
2005 292.00
2004 294.07
2003 298.07
2002 303.97
2001 306.54
2000 306.79
1999 304.38
1998 304.79
1997 303.36
1996 299.42
1995 298.46
1994 297.62
1993 301.32
1992 293.30
1991 289.19
1990 291.24
1989 293.74
1988 278.94
1987 278.86
1986 290.53

تاريخ آخر تحديث: 02/01/2018