GCC net

The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), as part of its core objectives, strives to achieve coordination and cooperation among its members in all aspects, to ensure a unified approach. In order to realize this, committees focusing on appropriate programs and mechanisms have been established, with the aim of accomplishing maximum cooperation and completeness.

One such committee, the "Governor's Committee of Monetary Agencies and Central Banks", seeks to establish a single currency for the GCC. Also, it aims at achieving an overall agreement on comprehensive and adequate "Monetary Policies and Financial Legislations" among the GCC members at a macro level.

In keeping with the above, high priority was accorded to establish ATM (K-net) national switches within the GCC countries and thereafter inter-linking them. The Governor's committee had agreed at its 21st meeting on 13 September 1994, to call for the creation of a technical working group which would be responsible for discussing the process of achieving this objective.

Since then, several meetings were held to ensure that the agreement arrived at by the Governors to establish a single ATM (K-net) network linking all the GCC National Switches, is achieved. The project aimed at providing GCC residents with the opportunity to utilize such a service, independent of third-party networks.

The GCCNET offers numerous features, in keeping with standards of similar international networks. A notable aspect is the availability of this ATM (K-net) switching facility at a reasonable fee. Further, with the decrease in the margin of exchange rates between the GCC currencies, account settlement between the member countries are conducted in those countries' own currency, without the need for opening a non-GCC currency account.

The GCCNET is a single ATM (K-net) network linking all the GCC National Switches. It offers numerous features, kept with standards of similar International Networks. A notable aspect is the availability of this ATM (K-net) switching facility at a reasonable fee. Further, it decreased the margin of exchange rates between the GCC currencies, account settlement between the member countries are conducted in those countries' own currency, without the need for opening a non-GCC currency account.

شبكة الخليجية لمجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية

يسعى مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية (GCC)، كأحد أهدافه الأساسية، إلى تحقيق التنسيق والتعاون بين الدول الأعضاء في كافة المجالات لضمان المنهجية الموحدة. ومن أجل تحقيق ذلك تركز اللجان على تأسيس برامج وأنظمة ملائمة بهدف تحقيق أكبر قدر من التعاون والكمال.

ومثال على هذه اللجان "لجنة محافظين البنوك المركزية والمؤسسات النقدية" والتي تسعى لتأسيس عملة موحدة لدول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية، بالإضافة إلى تحقيق إتفاق تام فيما يخص التكامل والتلاؤم في "السياسات النقدية والتشريعات المالية" بين الدول الأعضاء على المستوى الكلي.

واستناداً إلى ما سبق، أعطيت الأولوية إلى إنشاء شبكة ما بين دول مجلس التعاون لربط أجهزة الصرف الآلي (كي نت) فيما بينها. وقد وافقت لجنة المحافظين في اجتماعها الواحد والعشرين في 13 سبتمبر 1994 على تشكيل فريق عمل تقني مسئول عن مناقشة إجراءات تحقيق الأهداف.

ومنذ ذلك الحين، عقدت العديد من الاجتماعات لضمان تنفيذ اتفاقية المحافظين لتأسيس شبكة خليجية موحدة لأجهزة الصرف الآلي (كي نت) تربط بين جميع الشبكات الوطنية لدول مجلس التعاون. وكان المشروع هادفاً إلى إعطاء الفرصة لمواطني دول مجلس التعاون للاستفادة من هذه الخدمة والأطراف المشاركة بالشبكة.

وتقدم الشبكة الخليجية لمجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية خصائص متعددة في الحفاظ على المعايير الدولية للشبكات العالمية المشابهة، ومن أبرز تلك الخصائص توفير خدمة الشبكة الوطنية لأجهزة الصرف الآلي (كي نت) برسوم مناسبة. ومع إنخفاض هامش معدلات الصرف بين عملات دول مجلس التعاون فإن تسوية الحسابات بين الدول الأعضاء تتم بعملاتها المحلية من دون الحاجة لفتح حساب لعملة من خارج دول المجلس.