Introduction

The payments system plays a very crucial role in any economy, being the channel through which financial resources flow from one segment of the economy to the other. However, payment systems are governed by a set of legislations and private contractual procedures. They include multiple memberships, common rules, and standardized procedures ensuring transmission, clearing, netting, and settlement of monetary obligations that would arise between members involved.

In the State of Kuwait, The Central Bank of Kuwait (CBK) operates the Real Time Gross Settlement System (RTGS) known as Kuwait  Automated Settlement System for Inter-participant Payments (KASSIP) and Cheque Clearing. The other payment systems such as retail payment and securities settlement systems are operated by the private sector ; namely:  Shared Electronic Banking Services Company (K-net) and Kuwait Clearing Company, respectively.

In operating the payment system, the Central Bank of Kuwait works closely with the local banking community to achieve an efficient reliable payment system, it also cooperates regionally with the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) Countries.


Large-value Payment Systems (LVPSs) : also called ''Wholesale Payment Systems'' which are designed primarily to process urgent or large-value payments. These payments are exchanged between financial institutions relation to financial market activities and are generally for large amounts and require urgent or timely settlement. Thus, a system handling such payments needs to meet high safety and efficiency standards. Some LVPSs also process a large number of low-value or retail payments, but the systems are designed primarily on the basis of the safety requirements for the processing and settlement of wholesale payments. Most LVPSs settle in central bank money. Large-value Payment Systems in Kuwait are presented by KASSIP, cheques clearing and security settlement that operate by Kuwait clearing company. KASSIP is type of large-value payment system of interbank payments which also process a large number of low-value or retail payment.

 

Retail Payment Systems: are designed to handle a large volume of relatively low-value payments, such as credit transfers, direct debits and card payments. Retail payment may settle in either central bank or commercial bank money. An example of Retail Payment Systems in Kuwait is ATM and point of sale (POS) that are operated by K-net.

 

Depending on their settlement methods, payment systems are divided into four design types with the most common form being Real-time Gross Settlement (RTGS) and Designated-time Net Settlement (DNS).

  • Real-time gross settlement systems effect the final settlement of individual payments on a continuous basis during the processing day and are the predominant form of LVPS. CBK has designed KASSIP based on this settlement method.
  • Designated-time net settlement systems settle the net positions of participants at one or more discrete pre-specified settlement times during the processing day. This is the main form of Retail Payment System, often with several settlement cycles during the day. Net Settlement LVPSs usually settle once at the end of the day.
  • Designated-time Gross Settlement systems exist in some countries. In these systems, the final settlement of transfers occurs at the end of the processing day with no netting of credit and debit position - i.e. on a transaction-by-transaction basis or on the basis of the aggregate credit and debit positions of each bank.
  • Hybrid Systems combine the features of gross and net settlement - e.g. frequent offsetting of transaction and frequent final settlement during the day.

المقدمة

يعتبر نظام المدفوعات تنظيم رسمي يعتمد على التشريعات أو الاتفاقيات الخاصة، استناداً إلى العضويات الدولية المتعددة والقواعد الشائعة والإجراءات المعيارية لنقل الملكية والمقاصة ومقابلة أو تسوية الالتزامات المالية الخاصة بالمشاركين.


يعد نظام تحويل الأموال بين المشاركين كنظام للمدفوعات بحيث يعد كل أو معظم المشاركين جزءاً من المؤسسات الائتمانية (حيث يخضع للرقابة المصرفية). ويتم هذا من خلال إتمام التحويلات المالية بين المشاركين لحساباتهم الخاصة أو بالنيابة عن عملائهم. إن نظم المدفوعات داخل دولة الكويت يتم تشغيلها وإدارتها إما من قبل بنك الكويت المركزي عن طريق نظام كاسب (KASSIP) ومقاصة الشيكات، أو من قبل القطاع الخاص في دولة الكويت الذي يقوم بتشغيل بعض نظم المدفوعات مثل شركة الخدمات المصرفية الآلية شركة "كي-نت" (K-net) وشركة المقاصة الكويتية. وتخضع نظم المدفوعات في دولة الكويت للوائح والتنظيمات والاتفاقيات الخاصة مع البنوك ومشغل نظم المدفوعات وقانون البنك المركزي والقانون التجاري.


ويتم تصنيف نظم المدفوعات عامة كنظم ذات القيمة العالية أو "نظم مدفوعات التجزئة" وذلك اعتماداً على النوع الأساسي من العمليات المستخدمة في عملية الدفع.

وتسمى نظم المدفوعات ذات القيمة العالية أيضاً بـ"نظم المدفوعات المجملة" والتي يتم إعدادها بشكل أساسي لمعالجة عمليات الدفع العاجلة أو ذات القيمة العالية ويتم تبادل هذه المدفوعات بين المؤسسات المالية فيما يخص أنشطة سوق المال وتكون بشكل عام للمبالغ المرتفعة القيمة وتتطلب تسوية عاجلة أو في وقت محدد. ولذلك فإن النظام الذي يتعامل مع مثل هذه المدفوعات يتطلب استيفاء الحماية التامة ومعايير الكفاءة. وتقوم بعض نظم المدفوعات ذات القيمة العالية بالتعامل مع عدد كبير من المدفوعات ذات القيمة المنخفضة أو التجزئة إلا انه يتم إعدادها بشكل أساسي على أسس متطلبات الحماية لمعالجة تسوية المدفوعات المجملة. علاوةً على هذا، يتم تسوية كافة المدفوعات ذات القيمة العالية عن طريق البنك المركزي. وتتمثل نظم المدفوعات ذات القيمة العالية في دولة الكويت من خلال نظام كاسب الذي يعد كنوع من نظم المدفوعات ذات القيمة العالية ما بين البنوك والتي تقوم أيضاً بمعالجة عدد كبير من المدفوعات ذات القيمة المنخفضة أو التجزئة.


ويتم تصميم نظم المدفوعات التجزئة لمعالجة حجم كبير من المدفوعات ذات القيمة المنخفضة نسبيا مثل التحويلات الائتمانية والاستقطاعات المباشرة ومدفوعات البطاقات الائتمانية. ويمكن أيضاً تسوية عمليات الدفع التجزئة عن طريق بنك مركزي أو بنك تجاري. ومن أمثلة نظم الدفع التجزئة في الكويت أجهزة الصرف الآلي ونقاط البيع التي يتم تشغيلها من خلال شركة الخدمات المصرفية الآلية شركة (كي-نت) .


بالإستناد إلى طرق التسوية، تم تقسيم نظم المدفوعات إلى أربعة أنواع حيث تعتبر أكثر الأنواع شيوعاً تسوية الآنية للإجمالي وتسوية الصافي في وقت محدد.

  • وتؤثر أنظمة تسوية الآنية للإجمالي على التسوية النهائية لكل عملية دفع بشكل مستمر خلال اليوم وهي النموذج السائد لنظام المدفوعات العالية القيمة. وقد قام بنك الكويت المركزي بتصميم نظام كاسب استناداً إلى هذه الطريقة.
  • وتقوم أنظمة تسوية الصافي في الوقت المحدد بمعالجة إجمالي المركز المالي للمشاركين بعدة تسويات منفصلة أو تسوية محددة مسبقاً خلال اليوم. ويعتبر النموذج الأساسي من نظام الدفع التجزئة وغالباً باستخدام عدة دورات تسوية أثناء اليوم. وعادة ما تتم تسوية الصافي لنظام المدفوعات ذات القيمة العالية مرة واحدة في نهاية اليوم.
  • تتوافر أنظمة تسوية الإجمالي في الوقت المحدد في بعض الدول. وفي هذه الأنظمة، تتم التسوية النهائية للتحويلات في نهاية اليوم من دون مقابلة المركز المالي الدائن بالمركز المالي المدين للمشارك، على سبيل المثال على أساس عملية أو على أساس إجمالي المركز المالي الدائن أو إجمالي المركز المالي المدين لكل بنك.
  • وتقوم الأنظمة المختلطة (الهجينة) بجمع خصائص تسوية الإجمالي والصافي، المتكررة للعمليات والتسوية النهائية المتكررة خلال اليوم.