Payment Systems Oversight

"Oversight of payment systems is a central bank function; whereby the objectives of safety and efficiency are promoted by monitoring existing and planned systems, assessing them against these objectives and, where necessary, inducing change."

Central Bank of Kuwait use the following processes to cover within the payment systems strategy and oversight:

Conduct Internal Reviews: The internal reviews are planned periodically throughout the year. There are different types of internal reviews; reviews on the participant performance, reviews on operations performance, reviews on risk management… etc. Different types of reviews are planned at different frequencies. This creates a continuous monitoring over the payment systems operations and encourages the discipline.

 

Conduct External Examination: External examination is planned periodically throughout the year. Contrary to internal reviews, external examinations handle reviewing all the relevant areas. These examinations cover appliance of the participant to the licensing and participation agreements, participant system applicability, participant liquidity & collateral trends, participant transaction trends,…. etc. Such examinations create a discipline and educate the participant. Every participant is subject to equal access and regulations throughout the examination. Examination is not initiated unless an agreement on the scope and the time plan with the participant is reached.

 

Central Bank of Kuwait aims to achieve the objective of oversight by monitoring Kuwait's Automated Settlement System for inter-participant payments (KASSIP) and clearing cheques center. Also, Central Bank of Kuwait coordinates with other parties in Kuwait such as K-net to accomplish this objective.

الإشراف على نظم المدفوعات

"تعتبر عملية الإشراف على نظم المدفوعات من مهام بنك الكويت المركزي، حيث يتم تعزيز أهداف السلامة والكفاءة عن طريق متابعة النظم القائمة والمخطط لها وتقييم تلك النظم وفقاً لللأهداف التي بناءً عليها تم إنشائها وإحداث تغيير عند الضرورة".

يقوم بنك الكويت المركزي بالإجراءات التالية للتغطية فيما بين استراتيجيات نظم المدفوعات والإشراف:

إجراء المتابعة الداخلية:

يتم التخطيط للمتابعة الداخلية بشكل دوري على مدار السنة. هنالك عدة أنواع من المتابعة الداخلية: متابعة حول أداء المشارك، وحول أداء العمليات، وحول إدارة المخاطر...إلخ. يتم التخطيط لتلك الأنواع المختلفة من المتابعة خلال فترات مختلفة التكرار، وهذا ينشئ عنه متابعة متواصلة لعمليات نظم المدفوعات والتشجيع على الانضباط.


 

إجراء إختبارات خارجية:

يتم التخطيط للإختبارات الخارجية بشكل دوري على مدار السنة. خلافاً عن المتابعة الداخلية، تقوم الاختبارات الخارجية بمراجعة كافة المجالات المعنية بشكل متكامل. حيث تغطي هذه الاختبارات تطبيقات الحاسب لدى المشارك حسب ترخيص الإستخدام المتفق عليه وطلبات الإشتراك، والنظام المطبق من قبل المشارك، بالإضافة إلى تغيرات سيولة وضمانات المشارك، وتغيرات عمليات المشارك...إلخ، وتلك الإختبارات ينشئ عنها انضباط وتوعية للمشارك. كما يخضع كل مشارك إلى لوائح وفترات الإختبار بشكل متكافئ حيث لا يتم البدأ بالإختبار إلا في حال الوصول إلى اتفاق بشأن النطاق وزمن الخطة مع المشارك.


 

يهدف بنك الكويت المركزي إلى تحقيق هدف الإشراف عن طريق متابعة نظام الكويت الآلي لتسوية المدفوعات فيما بين المشاركين (كاسب) وغرفة مقاصة الشيكات. كما يقوم البنك المركزي بالتنسيق مع الأطراف الأخرى في الكويت كشركة الخدمات المصرفية الآلية كي-نت لتحقيق هذا الهدف.