Basic Functions & Tasks

The functions and tasks of Supervision Sector, in order to achieve the mentioned objectives, include the following:

  1. Prepare prudential regulations issued by CBK for all units under its supervision;
  2. Study, and analyze the applications of new entries in the banking and financial system and make recommendations in that regard;
  3. Suggest prudential proposals and recommendations that are deemed necessary to remedy the emerging problems that face the units subjected to CBK supervision, and to follow-up the implementation thereof;
  4. Endeavor to develop and organize both the banking & financial systems, and coordinate between them in such a way that would enhance their role in the national economy, and to direct the available resources towards optimum utilization;
  5. Analyze the data and information forwarded to CBK from the supervised units; and to present recommendations and proposals relevant to supervisory functions thereon;
  6. Study the banking services and products offered to the public by the banking and financial units, and to put forward prudential proposals and recommendations required for promoting such services;
  7. Conduct inspection on all units under CBK supervision [banks, investment companies (with respect to finance activity), finance companies, and exchange companies], and decide on the extent of their compliance with CBK law provisions and other related laws and resolutions, along with the regulations, instructions and resolutions issued by CBK in relation with the organization of banking and financial business and supervision thereon;
  8. Follow-up the activities of the monetary and financial market, and study the possibility of developing such market in collaboration with the other departments concerned at CBK, and to put forward the proposals and recommendations that are deemed necessary for incorporating new financial and banking institutions;
  9. Follow-up the developments in interest rates in the local and international markets; study the impact of such developments on flow of funds; and to present the proposals and recommendations that are deemed necessary in this regard together with the other departments concerned at CBK;
  10. Prepare the forms and statements relevant to the statistical data required to be presented by supervised units to CBK, and lay down the definitions and explanatory notes related to such data;
  11. Assist the supervised units toward the optimum application of regulations, by-laws, resolutions, definitions, explanatory notes and forms issued by CBK in connection with the organization of banking and financial business and supervision thereon;
  12. Study and follow-up the developments introduced in the Banking Supervisory Regulations in the other countries Study and follow-up all developments in supervisory functions and regulations issued or recommended by international supervisory agencies in other countries to promote the supervisory procedures and controls adopted over the banking and financial institutions operating in the State of Kuwait.
  13. Upgrade supervisory procedures and policies to be in line with international standards.
  14. Establish Credit Risk Center.

المهام والأنشطة الأساسية

تشتمل المهام والأنشطة الأساسية بقطاع الرقابة من أجل تحقيق الأهداف المذكورة على ما يلي:

  1. تجهيز تعليمات مناسبة صادرة عن بنك الكويت المركزي لجميع الوحدات الخاضعة لرقابته.
  2. دراسة وتحليل الطلبات الخاصة بالوحدات الجديدة في النظام المصرفي والمالي وإعداد التوصيات في هذا الخصوص.
  3. وضع المقترحات والتوصيات المناسبة من أجل تذليل كافة الصعوبات التي تسببها مشاكل الدمج والتي تواجه الوحدات الخاضعة لرقابة البنك المركزي ومتابعة تنفيذ ذلك.
  4. محاولة تطوير وتنظيم كلاًّ من النظام المصرفي والمالي، وخلق التعاون والانسجام بينهما في محاولة لتمكين دورهما في الاقتصاد الوطني، وتوجيه الموارد نحو الاستخدام المناسب.
  5. تحليل البيانات والمعلومات الواردة إلى بنك الكويت المركزي من الجهاز المصرفي والمالي، وتقديم التوصيات والاقتراحات اللازمة بشأن الرقابة على هذه المؤسسات.
  6. دراسة الخدمات المصرفية والمنتجات التي يقدمها الجهاز المصرفي والمالي لجمهور المتعاملين معه والمقابل الذي تتقاضاه مقابل هذه الخدمات، ووضع المقترحات والتوصيات المناسبة التي يتطلبها تطوير مثل تلك الخدمات.
  7. القيام بالتفتيش الدوري والمفاجئ على جميع الوحدات الخاضعة لرقابة بنك الكويت المركزي [بنوك، شركات الاستثمار (فيما يخص نشاط التمويل)، وشركات التمويل، وشركات الصرافة] للتأكد من سلامة المراكز المالية لهذه المؤسسات وتقرير مدى التزامها بالتعليمات والقرارات الصادرة من البنك المركزي، وتحديد مدى التزامهم بقانون بنك الكويت المركزي والتعليمات الصادرة عنه وجميع القوانين والتعليمات ذات العلاقة، وكذلك التعليمات والقرارات الصادرة من بنك الكويت المركزي والمرتبطة بتنظيم العمل المصرفي والمالي والرقابي.
  8. متابعة الأنشطة المرتبطة بالسوق المصرفي والمالي، ودراسة مدى إمكانية تطور مثل هذا السوق وذلك بالتعاون مع الإدارات الأخرى ذات العلاقة ببنك الكويت المركزي، ووضع المقترحات والتوصيات المناسبة والتي تعتبر ضرورية لدمج المؤسسات المصرفية والمالية.
  9. متابعة تطور أسعار الفائدة في السوق المحلي والأسواق الأجنبية بهدف تقرير مدى تأثير ذلك على السياسة النقدية والائتمانية، ودراسة تأثير مثل تلك التطورات على التدفقات النقدية وتقديم التوصيات والمقترحات والتي تعتبر ضرورية في هذا الجانب بالتعاون مع الإدارات الأخرى ذات العلاقة ببنك الكويت المركزي.
  10. إعداد النماذج والكشوف الخاصة بالبيانات الدورية ووضع التعاريف والمذكرات التفسيرية الخاصة بهذه البيانات ومساعدة المؤسسات المالية على التطبيق الأمثل لهذه المذكرات والقرارات.
  11. مساعدة الوحدات الخاضعة للرقابة في تطبيق التعليمات الخاصة بالبنك المركزي والمرتبطة بالقانون والقرارات والتعريفات والملاحظات التفسيرية للنماذج الصادرة من بنك الكويت المركزي والمرتبطة بتنظيم العمل الرقابي المصرفي والمالي.
  12. تتبـع دراسة التطورات الخاصة بأنظمة الرقابة المصرفية على المستوى العالمي بهدف تطوير أنظمة الرقابة المعمول بها لتتماشى مع المستجدات العالمية في هذا الخصوص.
  13. تطوير الوسائل والسياسات الرقابية حتى تتواكب مع المعايير الدولية.
  14. تأسيس نظام مركزية المخاطر.