FAQ

 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) by customers of banks, investment companies, and finance companies supervised by the Central Bank of Kuwait (CBK).

First: Consumer and Installment Loans

What are the maximum limits for consumer and installment loans:
The maximum limit for consumer loans equals 15 times customer’s net monthly salary or continuous monthly income, up to KD 15 thousand. The maximum limit of installment loans allowed is KD 70 thousand including any consumer loan granted.

What is the maximum limit of the monthly installment:
The maximum limit of the monthly installment shall not exceed 40% of employee’s (30% of pensioner’s) net salary or continuous monthly income.

What is the consumer/installment loan term:
Consumer loan term is five years, renewable for one year maximum in case of non-performing loan. Installment loan term is fifteen years, renewable for 3 years maximum in case of non-performing loan.

Is a bank customer entitled to borrow money in order to make payments of an existing loan from a different bank:
According to CBK’s regulations, banks should ensure that loans are used for the purpose specified, such as purchasing consumer and durable goods, education or medical expenses, in case of consumer loans. And for the purchase/restoration of private housing in case of installment loans. Loans cannot be used for payment of an existing loan from another bank.

Is it permissible to combine the salaries of spouses:
Merging of customers salaries of first degree kinship including spouses, and sponsorship between spouses is not permissible for installment loans only according to CBK’s regulations issued on 8-6-2004.

Does the bank have the right to reject customer’s loan application? What is the role of the Central Bank of Kuwait in this regard:
Loan-granting decision is delegated to the lender and is based on the credit study conducted. The Central Bank of Kuwait has no role in this respect.

Second: Credit Cards

What is the maximum limit of credit cards:
The maximum installment amount allowed, resulting from the usage of a credit card, shall not exceed ten times custmer's net salary or continuous monthly income, subjected to a maximum limit of KD 10 thousand.

What is the allowed repayment period of debit balances:
Repayment period of debit balances resulting from the use of credit cards shall not exceed one year, non-renewable.

Is a bank entitled to cancel a credit card without referring to the customer:
Cancelling a credit card is subject to the terms and conditions mentioned in the contract signed between the bank and the customer, not to the CBK's regulations.

What is the maximum limit for the monthly installment of a credit card:
Total installments deducted from customer's account in settlement of debit balance resulting from the credit cards, including repayment of the installments of consumer installment loans - finance transactions - whether through the bank issuing the credit card or other creditor parties, shall not exceed 40% of employee's (30% of pensioner's) net salary or continuous monthly income.

Third: Interest Rates

What is the maximum limit of interest rate on customer and installment loans:
The interest rate on these loans is 3% above the Central Bank's discount rate (Attachment includes a statement of changes in discount rates during previous years).

Is it permissible to deduct the interest in advance:
It is not permissible to deduct the interest in advance for consumer or installment loans, effective 30-3-2008 according to CBK's regulations issued on 24-3-2008.

How is the interest on consumer and installment loans computed (Is it fixed or variable):
Consumer loans are granted according to a fixed interest rate (change of interest rates does not affect existing loan's interest rate) according to CBK's regulations issued on 24-3-2008. However, fixed interest rate applied to installment loans is reviewed and adjusted upward/downward every five years by no more than 2%. For example, a customer installment loan granted at 5% interest rate, shall be affected by only 2% of any interest rate increase (e.g. 10%) made at the end of the first five years of loan payment, i.e. the new interest rate shall not exceed 7%.

Fourth: Fees and Commissions

Is a bank entitled to charge fees:
Banks are obliged to adhere to the list of fees and commissions approved by the CBK. Customers are usually made aware of this list.

Are fees and commissions standardized in all banks:
There are no binding regulations for banks to apply standardized fees or commissions, as these vary according to the nature of the customer service provided. Fees are approved by the CBK based on a relevant study to ensure that fees charged correspond to the actual services provided to the customer.

Is a customer entitled to redeem the insurance payments:
For loans granted prior to the issuance of the Central Bank of Kuwait regulations on 24-1-2007 concerning insurance fees on consumer and installment loans, the recovery/non-recovery of insurance payments vary from one bank to another in accordance with the insurance agreement signed between the bank and the insurance company on one side, and the customer and the bank on the other. For loans granted after that date, repayment of insurance amount shall be made on a monthly basis. In case of early loan repayments, the customer shall be exempted from the remaining installments.

What is the maximum limit of insurance fees borne by the customer:
According to CBK's regulations issued on 24-1-2007, insurance fees shall be paid equally (50% each) by the bank and the borrower provided that the amount of insurance fees borne by the customer does not exceed a maximum of 2% of the loan amount. The bank shall bear the remaining percentage which shall be no less than the percentage borne by the customer.

الأسئلة الشائعة

 

لائحة الاستفسارات الأكثر تكراراً من قبل عملاء ( البنوك ، شركات الاستثمار وشركات التمويل ) الخاضعة لرقابة بنك الكويت المركزي.

أولاً: القروض الاستهلاكية والمقسطة

كم يبلغ الحد الأقصى لقيمة القرض الاستهلاكي والقرض المقسط:
خمسة عشر أمثال صافي الراتب الشهري للعميــــــل ( بعد الاستقطاعات ) أو الدخــــــل الشهري المستمر وبحـــد أقصى 15 ألف دينار كويتي وذلك بالنسبة للقرض الاستهلاكي . أما بالنسبة للقرض المقسط فإن الحد الأقصى المسموح به هو 70 ألف دينار كويتي يدخل من ضمنه قيمة القرض الاستهلاكي الممنوح للعميل.

ما هو الحد الأقصى للقسط الشهري:
40% من صافي الراتب الشهري ( بعد الاستقطاعات ) أو الدخل الشهري المستمر للعميل بالنسبة للموظفين أو 30% بالنسبة للمتقاعدين.

كم الفترة اللازمة لتسديد القرض الاستهلاكي أو المقسط:
الحد الأقصى لسداد القرض الاستهلاكي خمس سنوات ويجوز تمديدها سنة أخرى كحد أقصى في حال التعثر في الســـــــداد ، أما بالنسبة للقروض المقسطة يتم سدادها علـى 15 سنة ويجوز تمديدها 3 سنوات كحد أقصى في حال التعثر في السداد.

هل يحق للعميل طلب قرض من أجل سداد قرض قائم لدى بنك آخر:
وفق تعليمات البنك المركزي فإن على البنك عند المنح الالتزام بأن يستخدم القرض الممنوح للعميل في الغرض الممنوح من أجله وهي شراء الاحتياجات الشخصية من السلع الاستهلاكية والمعمرة أو لتغطية نفقات التعليم أو العلاج بالنسبة للقروض الاستهلاكية ، وترميم أو شراء سكن خاص بالنسبة للقروض الإسكانية المقسطة ، وبالتالي لا يستخدم في سداد قروض قائمة لدى العميل تمت من بنوك أخرى ، حيث أنها تخرج عن الغرض الممنوح من أجله القرض.

هل يجوز دمج الراتب بين الزوج والزوجة:
تم التوقف عن دمج الراتب بين الأقارب من الدرجة الأولى بما فيهم الزوج والزوجة ، وكذا عدم كفالة أي من الزوجين للآخر وفق تعليمات بنك الكويت المركزي الصادرة في 8-6-2004 وذلك بالنسبة للقروض المقسطة فقط.

هل يحق للبنك رفض منح العميل قرض؟ وما هو دور البنك المركزي في هذا الشأن:
منح القرض من عدمه يرجع إلى قرار الجهة المانحة وفقاً لدراستها الائتمانية ، ولا يتدخل البنك المركزي في هذا الجانب.

ثانياً: بطاقات الائتمان

ما هو الحد الأقصى للبطاقة الائتمانية:
لا يتجاوز المبلغ المسموح بتقسيطه والناتج عن استخدام البطاقات الائتمانية عن عشرة أمثال صافي الراتب الشهري أو الدخل الشهري المستمر للعميل وبحد أقصى عشرة آلاف دينار.

ما هي فترة سداد أرصدة البطاقة الائتمانية:
لا تتجاوز فترة استرداد الأرصدة المدينة الناجمة عن استخدام البطاقة الائتمانية عن سنة واحدة غير قابلة للتجديد.

هل يحق للبنك إلغاء البطاقة الائتمانية دون الرجوع للعميل:
الموضوع يرجع إلى شروط وأحكام البطاقة الائتمانية الموقعة بين البنك والعميل ولا يتعلق بتعليمات صادرة عن البنك المركزي.

ما هو الحد الأقصى للقسط الشهري للبطاقة الائتمانية:
لا يتجاوز إجمالي الأقساط المستقطعة من العميل سداداً للرصيد المدين الناشئ عن بطاقات الائتمان ، وسداداً لأقساط القروض – عمليات التمويل – الاستهلاكيــــــة والمقسطة ، سواءً من خلال البنك المصدر للبطاقة الائتمانية أو الجهات الدائنة الأخرى عن 40% من صافي الراتب أو الدخل الشهري المستمر للعميل بالنسبة للموظفين ، 30% بالنسبة للمتقاعدين.

ثالثاً: أسعار الفائدة

ما هو الحد الأقصى لسعر الفائدة على القروض الاستهلاكية أو المقسطة:
3% فوق سعر الخصم المعلن من البنك المركزي (مرفق بيان يتضمن التغير في أسعار الخصم خلال السنوات السابقة).

هل يجوز خصم الفائدة مقدماً:
لا يجوز خصم الفائدة مقدماً ، سواء كان ذلك بالنسبة للقروض الاستهلاكية أو المقسطة وتم العمل بهذا الإجراء وفق تعليمات بنك الكويت المركزي الصادرة في  24-3-2008 وذلك ابتداءً من 30-3-2008.

ما هي طريقة احتساب أسعار الفائدة على القروض الاستهلاكية أو المقسطة (وهل هي ثابتة أو متغيرة):
وفق تعليمات البنك المركزي الصادرة في 24-3-2008 يتم منح القروض الاستهلاكية وفق سعر فائدة ثابتة ، وبالنسبة للقروض المقسطة يتم تطبيق سعر فائدة ثابت يتم مراجعته كل 5 سنوات بشرط لا يتجاوز معدل التغيير عن 2% ارتفاعاً أو هبوطاً بمعنى أنه في حال منح العميل قرض بسعر فائدة يبلغ 5% ، وفي نهاية الخمس سنوات الأولى من السداد زادت الفائدة لتصبح 10% ، فإن البنك لا يملك زيادة الفائدة على القرض إلا بمقدار 2% أي أن السعر الجديد سيصبح 7%.

رابعاً: الرسوم والعمولات

هل يحق للبنك استيفاء رسم معين:
هنالك لائحة رسوم وعمولات لدى البنك يطلع عليها العميل وهذه اللائحة معتمدة من قبل البنك المركزي ويتعين على البنك الالتزام بما ورد فيها.

هل الرسوم والعمولات موحدة لدى جميع البنوك:
لا توجد تعليمات تلزم البنوك بتطبيق رسوم أو عمولات موحدة حيث تختلف باختلاف طبيعة الخدمة المقدمة إلى العميل . وفي جميع الأحوال تلك الرسوم معتمدة من قبل البنك المركزي بعد دراستها والتحقق من أنه يقابلها خدمة فعلية تقدم للعميل.

هل يحق للعميل استرجاع مبالغ التأمين:
إذا كان منح القرض قبل تعليمات البنك المركزي المؤرخة 24-1-2007 بشأن أجور التأمين التي يتحملها عملاء القروض الاستهلاكية والمقسطة فإن استرجاع مبالغ التأمين من عدمه تختلف من بنك إلى آخر بحسب الاتفاقية التأمينية المبرمة بين البنك وشركة التأمين من جانب ، والعميل والبنك من جانب آخر . أما في حال كان القرض الممنوح بعد ذلك التاريخ فإنه وأخذاً بالاعتبار أن سداد مبلغ التأمين يتم بشكل شهري مع القسط ، وبالتالي يتم إعفاء العميل عن سداد باقي الأقساط في حالة سداده للقرض سداداً مبكراً.

ما هو الحد الأقصى لمبلغ التأمين الذي يتحمله العميل:
وفق تعليمات البنك المركزي المؤرخة 24-1-2007 فإن أجور التأمين تكون مناصفة بين البنك والمقترض بنسبة 50% لكل منهما ، على ألا تتجاوز أجور التأمين التي يتحملها العميل 2% من قيمة القرض كحد أقصى ويتحمل البنك النسبة الباقية من قيمة أجور التأمين ، والتي يتعين أن لا تقل عن النسبة التي تحملها العميل.