Off-Site Supervision Department

The Off-site Supervision Department follows up the off-site supervisory work conducted on the banking and financial units activities, to ascertain the soundness and stability of the position of the banking and financial system units and that sector as a whole, along with studying applications for the foundation of new banking and financial institutions, and the opening of branches for existing units. It also receives the periodic financial data of units subject to CBK supervision, follows up the necessary works for the issuance of supervisory systems, instructions and regulations to the banking and financial units, studies the banking and financial phenomena that become manifest while monitoring their reflections on the soundness and stability of the banking and financial system units, follows up the execution of the banking risks system and the rules pertaining to its application, along with following up matters of relevance to the application of the Law 41/93 and related laws. Additionally, the department is in charge of contacting external auditors of units subject to CBK supervision if needed and carries out any other tasks assigned to it.


The department encompasses the following sections:

Off-Site Surveillance Section

This section assumes the following responsibilities:

  1. Study and analyze the financial data of each of the banking system units so as to ensure the soundness of their financial positions, to monitor phenomena or trends whose emergence may call for issuing relevant recommendations, to prepare periodic reports on the trends in the financial position and result of activities of each unit, to follow up the extent of each unit's compliance with the provisions of the Law No.32 of the year 1968 concerning Currency, the Central Bank of Kuwait and the Organization of Banking Business, and amendments thereto, in addition to all supervisory regulations and instructions issued by the CBK , along with suggesting adequate penalties to be applied in case of violations.
  2. Prepare periodic reports on the development of the aggregate financial position of banks, finance companies, and exchange companies, and to conclude the trends and indicators of these developments and propose remedies and means that limit any negative reflections thereof.
  3. Study and analyze data submitted by banks on their average cost of funds. and prepare a periodic report on all-banks weighted average cost of funds.
  4. Study the closing financial statements of units subject to CBK supervision and prepare the relevant reports needed for the approval of these statements.
  5. Study the estimated balance sheet submitted by banks and compare estimates with actual performance, so as to determine discrepancies between them and the causes thereof.
  6. Collect and analyze observations and indicators which foretell general banking phenomena, to study their effect and suggest the supervisory regulations that may remedy any negative reflections thereof, so as to achieve the stability and credibility of the financial and banking system, in cooperation with the policies and technical studies section and the other sections in Supervision Sector. This task encompasses the following:
    1. To make necessary arrangements for issuing systems and instructions to the banking and financial units.
    2. To receive queries from units subject to CBK supervision with regard to applied supervisory systems and procedures, prepare replies thereto, or set meetings in this regard with those in charge of these units if need be.
    3. Preparing and maintaining instruction manuals concerning supervision on banks, investment companies, finance companies and exchange companies.
  7. Prepare studies related to applications for merger of units subject to CBK supervision, and to make recommendations in this regard.
  8. Organize and maintain registers of banks, investment companies, finance companies and exchange companies, and follow up the procedures for entry and modification of data in these records.

Policies and Technical Studies Section

This section assumes the following responsibilities:
  1. Prepare studies on the development of supervisory policies and procedures, in accordance with international developments in this field, and to study any possible reflections of these policies and procedures on the domestic banking and financial conditions, in coordination with the Off-site Surveillance Section and other sections of Supervision Sector.
  2. Study and prepare CBK recommendations on issues concerning banking and supervisory conditions, which are proposed on the agenda of committees and meetings attended by CBK representatives.
  3. Open channels of communications with worldwide supervisory bodies and concerned international institutions, for keeping informed of the latest worldwide trends and developments in the area of supervision on banking and financial activities, and to prepare studies and present suggestions in this regard.
  4. Prepare studies aimed at determining the market need for new banking and financial units or for new branches of existing units, along with presenting suggestions and recommendations in this regard.
  5. Study the applications submitted by banks regarding banking services and financial activities carried out by banks.
  6. Study the applications for the establishment of new banking and financial institutions, and new branches of existing units, according to the rules laid down in this regard. Also, to study applications for the modification of articles of associations and by-laws of the banking and financial institutions subject to CBK supervision.
  7. Participate with other sections in Supervision Sector in the preparation of CBK recommendations about suggestions presented with regard to banking, financial and commercial legislations and laws and amendments thereto. Also, to propose in coordination with the legal office, the introduction of amendments to applied legislations and laws, in keeping up with the changes and developments in economic and financial conditions on both the domestic and worldwide scenes.

The Banking and Financial Statistics Section

This section assumes the following responsibilities:

  1. Receive periodic credit data from units subject to CBK supervision, to review these data so as to ensure the correctness of their preparation and their conformity with the regulations applied in this regard and to statistically analyze the financial indicators of the banking and financial units based on periodic data and statistics.
  2. Prepare aggregate statistics at the banking and financial units under CBK supervision, and provide them to concerned sections in the department and to other concerned departments in CBK.
  3. Prepare all statistical data required for the various studies carried out by Supervision Sector.
  4. Endeavor to develop the means and methods of data transfer from units subject to CBK supervision, so as to enhance the efficiency, accuracy, and security of these data and statistics, in cooperation with the concerned bodies at CBK.
  5. Participate with the Off-site Surveillance Section and other sections, in the preparation and development of forms and statistical data presented by the banking and financial units within the context of supervisory regulations and procedures.

Credit Section

This section assumes the following responsibilities:

  1. Receive credit data from the banking and financial institutions subject to the Centralized Risk System, and to review these data to verify their conformity with the rules specified in this regard.
  2. Provide information on request from the banking and financial system units and other sections in Supervision Sector, at their request, regarding queries on credit clients, according to the requirements of the Centralized Risk System.
  3. Prepare aggregate data and statistics for centralized bank-credit risk on the banking and financial units’ level and periodically prepare related reports.
  4. Follow up the execution of the centralized survey system for clients whose cheques were returned by the banking system, as well as for the system of consumer and installment loans clients against which legal procedures were taken, and periodically prepare related reports.
  5. Receive bank applications presented to CBK, for the discounting and rediscounting of commercial papers, to assess the conformity of these applications with the relevant by-laws and decisions, and to coordinate in this regard with other concerned departments in CBK.
  6. Receive and prepare the statistics concerning the Debt Purchase Bonds and Real Estate Purchase Bonds Portfolio, to follow up the banks managing this portfolio, and to present required information in this regard to other sections in Supervision Sector.

إدارة الرقابة المكتبية

تتولى إدارة الرقابة المكتبية متابعة تنفيذ أعمال الرقابة المكتبية على أنشطة المؤسسات المصرفية والمالية، بهدف التحقق من سلامة واستقرار أوضاع وحدات النظام المصرفي والمالي والقطاع ككل، ودراسة طلبات تأسيس مؤسسات مصرفية ومالية جديدة وفتح فروع للوحدات القائمة. وتلقي البيانات المالية الدورية للوحدات الخاضعة لرقابة البنك المركزي، ومتابعة تنفيذ الأعمـال اللازمة لإصدار الأنظمة والتعليمات والضوابط الرقابية للوحدات المصرفية والماليـة، ودراسة الظواهر المصرفية والمالية التي تتكشف ورصد انعكاساتها على مدى سلامة ومتانة وحدات الجهاز المصرفي والمالي، ومتابعة تنفيذ نظام الأخطار المصرفية والقواعد الخاصة بتطبيقه، فضلاً عن قيامها بمتابعة الأمور ذات الصلة بتطبيق القانون 93/41 وتعديلاته، والقوانين ذات الصلة. بالإضافة إلى أنها الإدارة المعنية بالاتصال مع مراقبين الحسابات الخارجيين للوحدات الخاضعة في حال دعى الأمر إلى ذلك. 


وتشتمل الإدارة على الأقسام والوحدات التالية: 

قسم الإشراف المكتبي

ويتولى المهام التالية:

  1. دراسة وتحليل البيانات المالية لوحدات الجهاز المصرفي بهدف الاطمئنان على سلامة أوضاعها المالية، فضلاً عن رصد أي ظواهر أو اتجاهات قد تستدعي إبرازها وتقديم توصيات بشأنها. وإعداد تقارير دورية حول اتجاهات المركز المالي ونتائج نشـاط كل وحدة، ومتابعة مدى إلتزام كل منها بأحكام القانون رقم 32 لسنة 1968 بشأن النقد وبنك الكويت المركزي وتنظيم المهنة المصرفية وتعديلاته، وكافة الضوابط والتعليمات الرقابية الصادرة عن البنك المركزي، واقتراح الجزاءات المناسبة التي يتم تطبيقها بشأن ما يقع من مخالفات.
  2. إعداد تقارير دورية عن تطور المركز المالي المجمع لكل من البنوك وشركات التمويل وشركات الصرافة، واستخلاص اتجاهات ومؤشرات تلك التطورات، واقتراح سبل العلاج والحد من أي انعكاسات سلبية تتكشف عن تلك التطورات.
  3. دراسة وتحليل البيانات المقدمة من البنوك حول معدل تكلفة الأموال لديها، وإعداد تقرير دوري عن المتوسط المرجح لتكلفة الأموال على مستوى جميع البنوك.
  4. دراسة البيانات المالية الختامية للوحدات الخاضعة لرقابة البنك المركزي، وإعداد التقارير اللازمة في هذا الخصوص تمهيداً لاعتماد هذه البيانات.
  5. دراسة الميزانيات التقديرية المقدمة من البنوك، وكذا دراسة مقارنة للتقديرات مع الأداء الفعلي، لبيان أية انحرافات وأسبابها.
  6. تجميع وتحليل المشاهدات والمؤشرات التي تنبئ عن ظواهر مصرفية عامة، ودراسة تأثيرها واقتراح الضوابط الرقابية الكفيلة بعلاج أي انعكاسات سلبية لها بما يحقق الاستقرار والثقة في الجهاز المصرفي والمالي، وذلك بالتنسيق مع قسم السياسات والدراسات الفنية والأقسام الأخرى بقطاع الرقابة، ويتم في هذا الخصوص القيام بما يلي:
    1. أ - إعداد الترتيبات اللازمة لإصدار الأنظمة والتعليمات للوحدات المصرفية والمالية.
    2. ‌ب - تلقي استفسارات الوحدات الخاضعة للرقابة بشأن الأنظمة والإجراءات الرقابية المعمول بها، وإعداد الرد عليها، أو ترتيب اجتماعات مع مسئولي تلك الوحدات في هذا الخصوص إذا لزم الأمر.
    3. ‌جـ - إعداد ومسك أدلة التعليمات الخاصة بالرقابة على كل من البنوك، شركات الاستثمار، وشركات التمويل، وشركات الصرافة.
  7. إعداد الدراسات الخاصة بطلبات دمج الوحدات الخاضعة لرقابة البنك المركزي، وإبداء التوصيات في هذا الشأن.
  8. تنظيم ومسك سجلات كل من البنوك ، وشركات الاستثمار، وشركات التمويل، وشركات الصرافة، ومتابعة إجراءات قيد وإعداد التعديلات التي تتم على بيانات هذه السجلات.

‌قسم السياسات والدراسات الفنية

ويتولى المهام التالية:

  1. إعداد الدراسات المتعلقة بتطوير السياسات والإجراءات الرقابية بما يتماشى مع التطورات الدولية في هذا المجال، ودراسة أية انعكاسات محتملة لمثل هذه السياسات والإجراءات على الأوضاع المصرفية والمالية المحلية، وذلك بالتنسيق مع قسم الإشراف المكتبي والأقسام الأخرى بقطاع الرقابة.
  2. دراسة وإعداد توصيات البنك المركـزي بشأن الموضوعات الخاصة بالأوضاع المصرفية والرقابية المطروحة على جداول أعمـال اللجان والمؤتمرات التي يحضرها ممثلين عن البنك المركزي.
  3. فتح قنوات الإتصال مع الجهات الرقابية العالمية والمؤسسات الدوليـة الأخرى المعنية، للوقوف على أحدث الاتجاهات والتطورات العالمية في مجال الرقابة على الأنشطة المصرفية والمالية، وإعداد الدراسات وتقديم المقترحات في هذا الخصوص.
  4. المشاركة مع قسم الإشراف المكتبي والأقسام الأخرى، في إعداد الدراسات عن الظواهر المصرفية التي تتكشف، ورصد تأثيرها على مدى سلامة ومتانة وحدات الجهاز المصرفي والقطاع ككل.
  5. إعداد الدراسات الخاصة بتحديد مدى احتياج السوق لوحدات مصرفية وماليـة جديدة، أو فتح فروع لوحدات قائمة، وإبداء اقتراحات وتوصيات في هذا الشأن.
  6. دراسة الطلبات المقدمة من البنوك بخصوص الخدمات المصرفية والأنشطة المالية التـي تقدمها البنوك.
  7. دراسة طلبات تأسيس مؤسسات مصرفية ومالية جديدة، وطلبات فتح فروع للوحدات القائمة وفق القواعد الموضوعة في هذا الشأن، وكذلك طلبات التعديل في عقود التأسيس والنظم الأساسية للمؤسسات المصرفية والمالية الخاضعة لرقابة البنك المركزي.
  8. المشاركة مع الأقسام الأخرى بقطاع الرقابة في إعداد توصيات البنك المركزي بخصوص الاقتراحات المقدمة بشأن التشريعات والقوانين المصرفية والمالية والتجارية وأية تعديلات عليها وكذا اقتراح إدخال أي تعديلات على التشريعات والقوانين القائمة بما يواكب التغيرات والتطورات التي تشهدها الأوضاع الاقتصادية والمالية على الساحتين المحلية والعالمية، وذلك بالتنسيق مع المكتب القانوني.

قسم الإحصاءات المصرفية والمالية

ويتولى المهام التالية:

  1. تلقى البيانات الإحصائية الدورية من الوحدات الخاضعة لرقابة البنك المركزي، ومراجعتها للتأكد من سلامة إعدادها ومطابقتها للقواعد والضوابط المعمول بها في هذا الشأن. وإعداد التحليل الإحصائي عن المؤشرات المالية لكل من الوحدات المصرفيـة والمالية من واقع البيانات الإحصائية الدورية.
  2. إعداد البيانات الإحصائية المجمعة على مستوى كل من المؤسسات المصرفية والمؤسسات المالية الخاضعة لرقابة بنك الكويت المركزي، وموافاة الأقسام المعنية بها، وكذلك الإدارات الأخرى المعنية في البنك المركزي.
  3. تجهيز وإعداد كافة البيانات الإحصائية المطلوبة لأغراض الدراسات المختلفة التي تقوم بها أقسام قطاع الرقابة.
  4. العمل على تطوير وسائل وأساليب نقل البيانات من الجهات الخاضعة إلى البنك المركزي، بشكل يزيد من كفاءة وفاعلية ودقة وأمان تلك البيانات والإحصاءات، وذلك بالتنسيق مع الجهات المعنية في البنك المركزي.
  5. المشاركة مع قسم الإشراف المكتبي والأقسام الأخرى بقطاع الرقابة في إعداد وتطوير النماذج والبيانات الإحصائية التي تقدمها الوحدات المصرفية والمالية في إطار الضوابط والإجراءات الرقابية.

قسم الائتمان

ويتولى المهام التالية:

  1. تلقي البيانات الائتمانية من وحدات المؤسسات المصرفية والمالية الخاضعة لنظام مركزية المخاطر، ومراجعتها والتحقق من صحتها ومطابقتها للقواعد المقررة في هذا الشأن.
  2. تقديم المعلومات لوحدات الجهاز المصرفي والمالي وللأقسام الأخرى بقطاع الرقابة، بناءً على طلبهم، وذلك في مجال استعلامهم عن عملاء الائتمان، ووفقاً لمتطلبات نظام مركزية المخاطر.
  3. إعداد البيانات والإحصاءات المجمعة لمركزية مخاطر الائتمان المصرفي على مستوى وحدات المؤسسات المصرفية والمالية. وإعداد التقارير المرتبطة بهذه البيانات بصفـة دورية.
  4. متابعة تنفيذ نظام الحصر المركزي للعملاء الذين ترتجع لهـم شيكات لدى الجهاز المصرفي، وكذلك نظام عملاء القروض الاستهلاكية والمقسطة المتخذ بشأنهم إجراءات قانونية، وإعداد التقارير المرتبطة بها بصفة دورية.
  5. تلقي طلبات البنوك بشأن خصم وإعادة خصم الأوراق التجارية لدى البنــك المركزي، وتقدير مدى مطابقتها للوائح والقرارات ذات العلاقة، والتنسيق مع الإدارات الأخرى المعنية بالبنك في هذا الشأن.
  6. تلقي وإعداد البيانات والإحصاءات الخاصة بكل من المديونيات المشتراة والمحفظة العقارية المشتراة، ومتابعة البنوك المديرة لتلك المحفظة. وتقديم المعلومات المطلوبـة للأقسام الأخرى بقطاع الرقابة في هذا الخصوص.