Clearing System

CBK Clearing

The exchange of cheques among local banks in the State of Kuwait is carried out through the CBK. Towards improvement of the banking work environment and banks’ operation systems and processes and automating their diverse activities, the CBK Board approved the Kuwait Electronic Cheque Clearing System (KECCS) project as an alternative to the manual system, and the new system was launched in 14 June, 2015 within the framework of implementation of safety and integrity criteria and in compliance with the laws in effect within the State of Kuwait, where international best practices were adopted in terms of automation of the cheque clearing cycle as well as conversion of cheques into electronic formats to be used in electronic clearing.

The Kuwait Electronic Cheque Clearing System (KECCS) is a system for electronic clearing of cheques in the Kuwaiti Dinar among participants (local banks). The CBK is the manager of the Electronic Cheque Clearing Center as well as a participant, acting as the bank of the Government and collecting cheques on behalf of state bodies through the CBK.

Adopting the (KECCS) system carries several benefits for the local banking system and for clients, which could be summed up in the resultant improved operational efficiency of cheque clearing so that the time required for the collection of cheques’ values and depositing of these into beneficiaries’ bank accounts now takes place within a single business day instead of three as with the previous manual system. This improves customer service and reduces systemic risk related to delayed collection, particularly since the new system provides instantaneous information and data that would lead to fast detection and identification of falsified cheques. This, in turn, increases efficiency of payment systems of the Kuwaiti economy and banks’ liquidity and bolsters the financial and monetary stability of the State of Kuwait.

The regulatory guidelines relating to the (KECCS) systems were specified and detailed within its comprehensive guidelines, binding for all participating bodies and regulating their interaction(s). The system performs the following functions for its participants:

  • Collection of cheques deposited by customers of the participating body through accounts with other banks.
  • Authentication of cheques in terms of meeting the unified security criteria, to ascertain they are not falsified/forgeries.
  • Inquiry and search for cheques’ data through a flexible mechanism.
  • Saving cheques’ copies and attachments in the system and enabling the retrieval of such at a later point in time.
  • Issue of various reports and carrying out inquiries.

In addition to shouldering the operation and management of the (KECCS) system, the CBK also carries out, directly, debit and credit operations on accounts of participants of the (KASSIP) system, according to net settlement position within the KECCS system, and also monitors all participant bodies and their compliance with the rules and regulations governing the system.

نظام المقاصة

المقاصة في بنك الكويت المركزي

إن تبادل الشيكات بين البنوك المحلية داخل دولة الكويت يتم عن طريق بنك الكويت المركزي، وفي إطار سعيه الدائم لتطوير بيئة العمل المصرفي ونظم وعمليات التشغيل لدى البنوك وميكنة مختلف أنشطتها، بما يساهم في الارتقاء بمستوى الخدمات المصرفية التي يقدمها القطاع المصرفي للجمهور، فقد اعتمد مجلس إدارة بنك الكويت المركزي مشروع نظام الكويت للمقاصة الإلكترونية للشيكات (KECCS) كبديل للنظام اليدوي، وقد تم العمل به في 14 يونيو 2015 في إطار تطبيق معايير السلامة والأمان وبما يتوافق مع القوانين السارية في دولة الكويت، حيث تم تبني أفضل الممارسات العالمية من حيث ميكنة الدورة المستندية لمقاصة الشيكات، وتحويل أصل الشيك إلى الصيغة الإلكترونية لاستخدامها في عملية المقاصة الإلكترونية.

إن نظام الكويت للمقاصة الإلكترونية للشيكات (KECCS) هو نظام لتقاص الشيكات المحررة بالدينار الكويتي إلكترونيا بين الجهات المشاركة (البنوك المحلية)، ويعتبر بنك الكويت المركزي مديراً لمركز المقاصة الإلكترونية للشيكات فهو المسؤول عن تشغيل وإدارة النظام، كما يعتبر جهة مشاركة بصفته بنك الحكومة حيث يقوم بتحصيل الشيكات لحسابات الجهات الحكومية لدى بنك الكويت المركزي.

وينطوي استخدام نظام الكويت للمقاصة الإلكترونية للشيكات على العديد من المزايا للجهاز المصرفي المحلي والعملاء، والتي يمكن إيجازها فيما يترتب على تطبيق نظام المقاصة الجديد من تحسين الكفاءة التشغيلية لمقاصة الشيكات، ومن ثم اختصار مدة تحصيل قيمة الشيك لحساب المستفيد وإيداعه بحسابه خلال يوم عمل واحد أو في نفس اليوم، بدلاً من ثلاثة أيام كما في نظام المقاصة اليدوي سابقاً، وهو ما يؤدي إلى تحسين خدمة العملاء والحد من المخاطر النظامية المتعلقة بالتحصيل المؤجل للشيك، حيث أن آلية عمل النظام الجديد توفر معلومات وبيانات فورية من شأنها سرعة الكشف عن الشيكات المزورة، ومن شأن ذلك رفع كفاءة نظم المدفوعات في الاقتصاد الكويتي وتحسين إدارة السيولة في البنوك، بما يعزز المقومات الأساسية للاستقرار المالي والنقدي في الدولة.

وقــد تـم وضع القواعد التنظيمية الخــاصة بنــظام الكويت للمقاصة الإلكترونية للـــشيكات (KECCS) كجزء من القواعد الحاكمة له والمُلزمة لجميع الجهات المشاركة لتنظم العلاقة فيما بينها، ويقدم النظام للمشاركين الوظائف التالية:

  • تحصيل الشيكات المقدمة من عملاء الجهة المشاركة والمسحوبة على البنوك الأخرى.
  • التدقيق علِى صحة الشيكات من خلال مطابقتها للمعايير الأمنية الموحدة للشيكات، للتأكد من أنها غير مزورة.
  • الاستعلام والبحث عن بيانات الشيكات من خلال آلية مرنة.
  • حفظ صور ومرفقات الشيكات بالنظام مع إمكانية استرجاعها لاحقاً.
  • إصدار التقارير المتنوعة والاستفسارات.

إلى جانب مسؤولية بنك الكويت المركزي عن تشغيل وإدارة نظام الكويت للمقاصة الإلكترونية للشيكات (KECCS)، فهو يقوم بعمليات الخصم والإيداع في حساب الجهات المشاركة في نظام كاسب بشكل مباشر وفقاً لصافي مركز التسوية بنظام (KECCS)، كما يقوم بمراقبة كافة الجهات المشاركة بالنظام ومدى التزامهم بالقوانين والقواعد الحاكمة للنظام.