GCC net

As a main objective, the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) strives to achieve coordination and cooperation among its members in all fields to ensure a unified methodology. To this end, GCC sub-committees focus on establishing appropriate programs and systems to reach the highest level possible of cooperation and integration. One example is the GCC Committee of Governors of Monetary Institutions and Central Banks which strives for adoption of a unified GCC currency, as well as for total agreement regarding integration and compatibility of “monetary policies and financial legislation” among the member states on a macro level.

In view of the above, a network was established in the year 1997 to connect all ATMs across the member states, aiming to give GCC nationals the benefit of this service, as well as the parties participating in the network.

In a further extension of the GCC Net, a service was also launched connecting Gulf POSs to ATM cards between the states of Kuwait, Bahrain, and Qatar. The service allows the carrier of a card issued in a participating country to use the card at POSs in any other participating country within the network, with the same benefits and restrictions stated upon for use at POSs of the issuing country, and in a manner that ensures the privacy and security of transactions for providers and users of the service.

GCC Net has many advantages for GCC countries in line with compliance with global standards for similar international networks. Main among these benefits is availability of the national ATM network service at suitable fees, and with the decline of the exchange rate margin for GCC currencies, settlement of accounts among the member states is carried out by their local agents without the need to open an account in any non-GCC currency.

الشبكة الخليجية لمجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية

يسعى مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية (GCC)، كأحد أهدافه الأساسية، إلى تحقيق التنسيق والتعاون بين الدول الأعضاء في كافة المجالات لضمان المنهجية الموحدة، ومن أجل تحقيق ذلك تُركز اللجان المنبثقة عن المجلس على تأسيس برامج وأنظمة ملائمة بهدف تحقيق أكبر قدر من التعاون والكمال. ومثال على هذه اللجان "لجنة محافظين البنوك المركزية والمؤسسات النقدية" والتي تسعى لتأسيس عملة موحدة لدول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية، بالإضافة إلى تحقيق اتفاق تام فيما يخص التكامل والتلاؤم في "السياسات النقدية والتشريعات المالية" بين الدول الأعضاء على المستوى الكلي.

واستناداً إلى ما سبق، تم خلال عام 1997إنشاء شبكة ما بين دول مجلس التعاون لربط أجهزة السحب الآلي فيما بينها، وذلك بهدف إعطاء الفرصة لمواطني دول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية للاستفادة من هذه الخدمة والأطراف المشاركة بالشبكة.

وامتداداً لخدمات الشبكة الخليجية فقد تم تدشين خدمة ربط أجهزة نقاط البيع الخليجية لبطاقات السحب الآلي بين دولة الكويت ومملكة البحرين ودولة قطر، وتكفل تلك الخدمة لحاملي بطاقات السحب الآلي الصادرة في الدولة المُشاركة في الشبكة استخدام تلك البطاقات في نقاط البيع في أي من دول المجلس الأخرى المشاركة في تلك الشبكة، وبذات المزايا والشروط المقررة لدى استخدامها في نقاط البيع في دولة الإصدار، وبما يضمن الخصوصية والأمان للمتعاملين والمستفيدين من تلك الخدمة.

وتقدم الشبكة الخليجية لمجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية خصائص متعددة في الحفاظ على المعايير الدولية للشبكات العالمية المشابهة، ومن أبرز تلك الخصائص توفير خدمة الشبكة الوطنية لأجهزة الصرف الآلي برسوم مناسبة، ومع انخفاض هامش أسعار الصرف بين عملات دول مجلس التعاون فإن تسوية الحسابات بين الدول الأعضاء تتم بعملاتها المحلية دون الحاجة لفتح حساب لعملة من خارج دول المجلس.