The issue and circulation of currency notes and coins is subject to the provisions of law (32) of 1968 concerning currency, the Central Bank of Kuwait (CBK) and the organization of the banking business in the country. Accordingly, the issuing of Kuwaiti currency is the State's exclusive privilege, solely exercised by CBK.

The unit of currency in Kuwait is the Kuwaiti Dinar (KD), divided into one thousand Fils.

Currency notes are issued by the CBK in the following denominations: quarter Dinar, half Dinar, one Dinar, five Dinars, ten Dinars and twenty Dinars.

There have been six issues of Kuwaiti currency notes since the introduction of the State's legal tender in 1961. The sixth issue was released into circulation on 29 June 2014. The new banknotes was developed in an innovative manner that guarantees an excellent quality, security measures and aesthetic appeal which includes many of Kuwait’s accomplishments, its citizens’ uplifting spirit and other national aspects.

* Note:
Holders of the fifth issue banknotes shall still be able to exchange them at CBK Banking Hall, by presenting an ID along with a copy thereof, and filling the related form, within an extended period of 10 years from the effective date of the resolution dated 19-04-2015.

For additional information on:

  • the withdrawal of the Fifth Issue of currency notes from circulation, click here.
  • Kuwait's currency notes and coins, kindly contact CBK Banking Hall supervisor.