Press Releases

10.08.21Press Statement

CBK Announces the Launch of "Kuwaiti Economic Researcher Award" and "Kuwaiti Economic Student Award" – 2021

Dr. Mohammad Y. Al-Hashel, Governor of the Central Bank of Kuwait and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Institute of Banking Studies, announced the launch of the third round of the "Kuwaiti Economic Researcher Award," addressed to Kuwaiti researchers, and the second round of the "Kuwaiti Economic Student Award," addressed to undergraduate and graduate students. The awards promote scientific research in the economic and banking fields through motivating and encouraging national cadres to enhance their research competence according to high scientific standards in banking and finance fields. The Governor noted that these annual awards offered by the CBK and Kuwaiti banks and managed by the Kuwait Institute for Banking Studies (KIBS) is part of CBK’s and Kuwaiti banks’ strategic pursuit to uphold their social responsibility and entrench scientific methodology for addressing banking and finance issues. Ultimately, this would cultivate specialized and highly qualified national cadres in all aspects of the Kuwaiti banking and financial sector.

Dr. Al-Hashel added that the success of the Kuwaiti Economic Researcher Award in its first and second rounds, as well as the success of the Kuwaiti Economic Student Award in its first round, is nothing but a reflection of the importance of instilling a culture of scientific research among researchers and students, highlighting the distinguished among them and motivating them to develop solutions to improve the status of banking and financial work in Kuwait.

Dr. Al-Hashel explained that a judges panel comprising local and international experts will review and select the best research according to academic and scientific criteria. The winner of the Kuwaiti Economic Researcher Award will receive an award of KD10,000, while an award of KD5,000 will be allocated to the Kuwaiti Economic Student Award. A certificate of merit and a commemorative gift will be presented to the winners, and their research papers would be printed, published and distributed to serve as a reference for those wishing to benefit from sound research. The Institute of Banking Studies will manage the award procedures, including receiving the research papers, ensuring that they comply with criteria, appointing judging panel, documenting the panel’s decisions, and announcing the results.

The Governor concluded by noting that the details of the awards, conditions for applying, details on means of submission of research work, and dates for receipt of applications are published on the website of Kafa’a programs. Those wishing to apply, as well as others interested, may find the details regarding the 2021 awards and submit their application forms starting from August 10, 2021 until October 31, 2021 through the website .

Prev CBK Publishes the Annual Report for the FY 2020/2021
Go Back
Next CBK Launches Public Tenders' Electronic Service