Introduction

Payment systems are key elements utilized to realize monetary and financial stability, serving as launch pad to implement the monetary policy activities through a reliable mechanism that guarantees policies are implemented efficiently and yield the desired results, and authenticated/documented processes for settling financial transactions are properly executed. Furthermore, they are key pillars of economic growth, as they are among the three main areas of Central Banks’ functions as defined by the Bank for International Settlements, viz. Implementation of Monetary Policy, Supervision and Oversight over Banks and Payment Systems. Payment systems involve many fundamental functions related to formulating the financial infrastructure that aids in realizing financial stability. Accordingly, the Central Bank of Kuwait constantly works to bolster the integrity and efficiency of these systems to stay abreast of ever-evolving payment services and instruments, with all that entails in terms of increasing volume and diversity of transactions. The aim is to ensure provision of secure and highly efficient payment services that accommodate the needs of the customers and earn their satisfaction through a set of means and procedures of financial payment and settlement based on an integrated and fortified infrastructure, to secure the integrity and efficiency of these systems and, hence, monetary and financial stability.

Payment systems are generally categorized as either Large-value Payment Systems (LVPSs) or Retail Payment Systems.

A) Large-value Payment Systems (LVPSs):

Also called Wholesale Payment Systems, these systems process urgent or large-value payments. Any system handling such payments must satisfy the requirements of efficiency and complete safety. Along these lines, Kuwait’s Automated Settlement System for Inter-participant Payments (KASSIP) was designed as a Real Time Gross Settlement System (RTGS) to handle participants’ high-value payments, as well as process their low-value or retail payments.

B) Retail Payment Systems:

These systems process a high volume of payments of relatively low value such as direct debit operations and credit card payments. Retail payment transactions can also be settled through the CBK and commercial banks, one example in Kuwait being the retail payments processed by Shared Electronic Banking Services Company (K-net).


The CBK operates and manages Kuwait’s Automated Settlement System for Inter-participant Payments (KASSIP) and Kuwait Electronic Cheque Clearing System (KECCS). Meanwhile, financial institutions (banks, financing companies, investment companies - financing activity – or exchange companies that are subject to CBK supervision or any institution authorized to carry out fund transfers or electronic payments within the constraints of laws in effect at the time) may also engage in electronic payment and settlement system activities, subject to the supervision and oversight of the CBK pursuant to Law No.20 of 2014 concerning electronic transactions, and may do so through service providers (EPIPs) or their agents (EPAs), defined as follows:

Electronic Payment Infrastructure Provider (EPIP):

Any financial institution that takes the form of a shareholding company, and has been listed in CBK register to perform all or part of the operations of electronic payment and settlement systems, provision of service or any other related services, provided the final settlement is made through local banks.

Electronic Payment Agents (EPA):

Any financial institution that takes the form of a shareholding company or limited liability company, and has been listed in CBK register to practice all or part of the activities on behalf of the Electronic Payment Infrastructure Provider.


Payment systems in the State of Kuwait are subject to laws currently enforced (such as CBK Law, Electronic Transactions Law) and to the bylaws, regulations, and special agreements signed among the parties concerned with the operation and provision of payment system services.

المقدمة

تُعد نظم المدفوعات ركيزة أساسية في تحقيق الاستقرار النقدي والمالي، حيث أنها منصة تنفيذ أنشطة السياسة النقدية من خلال وجود آلية محكمة لتنفيذ هذه السياسة وتحقيق أهدافها بفعالية وكفاءة، كما أنها تضمن إجراء عمليات موثقة لتسوية المطالبات الناشئة عن العمليات المالية، فإن نظم المدفوعات من الدعائم الهامة للنمو الاقتصادي، نظراً لكونها أحد الركائز الأساسية الثلاثة التي تقوم عليها وظائف البنوك المركزية وذلك وفقا لتعريف بنك التسويات الدولي، وتلك الركائز تتمثل في تنفيذ السياسة النقدية، والرقابة والإشراف على البنوك، ونظم المدفوعات، حيث أن نظم المدفوعات تضطلع بالعديد من المسئوليات الجوهرية في صياغة البنية الأساسية المالية التي تسهم في تحقيق الاستقرار المالي. لذا فإن بنك الكويت المركزي يعمل بشكل دائم على تعزيز سلامة وكفاءة نظم المدفوعات لمواكبة التطور المتلاحق في خدمات وأدوات الدفع المقدمة وما يصاحب ذلك من كبر حجم وتنوع المعاملات، وذلك لضمان توفير خدمات دفع آمنة ذات كفاءة عالية تٌلبي احتياجات مستخدميها على نحو مُرضي ومُستمر، من خلال مجموعة من الوسائل والإجراءات لسداد وتسوية الأموال، ترتكز على بنية تحتية متكاملة ومحصنة، من أجل تحقيق الاستقرار المالي والنقدي القائم على سلامة وكفاءة تلك النظم.

ويتم تصنيف نظم المدفوعات بشكل عام إلى " نظم المدفوعات ذات القيمة العالية " أو " نظم مدفوعات التجزئة ".

أ) نظم المدفوعات ذات القيمة العالية:

وتسمى تلك النظم أيضاً بـنظم المدفوعات المجملة والتي تقوم بمعالجة عمليات الدفع العاجلة أو ذات القيمة العالية، ولذلك فإن النظام الذي يتعامل مع مثل هذه المدفوعات يتطلب استيفاء معايير الكفاءة والحماية التامة، وفي هذا الإطار تم تصميم نظام الكويت الآلي لتسوية المدفوعات فيما بين المشاركين (كاسب) كنظام للتسويات الآنية الإجمالية (RTGS) للمدفوعات بين المشاركين لتنفيذ المدفوعات العالية القيمة كما يقوم أيضاً بمعالجة المدفوعات ذات القيمة المنخفضة أو التجزئة.

ب) نظم مدفوعات التجزئة:

تقوم تلك النظم بمعالجة حجم كبير من المدفوعات ذات القيمة المنخفضة نسبيا مثل الاستقطاعات المباشرة ومدفوعات البطاقات الائتمانية، ويمكن أيضاً تسوية العمليات الخاصة بمدفوعات التجزئة عن طريق بنك الكويت المركزي أو البنوك التجارية، ومن أمثلة نظم مدفوعات التجزئة في دولة الكويت النظم التي يتم تشغيلها من خلال شركة الخدمات المصرفية الآلية المشتركة (كي-نت).


هذا ويقوم بنك الكويت المركزي بتشغيل وإدارة نظم المدفوعات المتمثلة في نظام الكويت الآلي لتسوية المدفوعات فيما بين المشاركين - كاسب (KASSIP)، ونظام الكويت للمقاصة الإلكترونية للشيكات (KECCS). إلى جانب قيام المؤسسات المالية (البنك أو شركة التمويل أو شركة الاستثمار _ نشاط التمويل _ أو شركة الصرافة الخاضعين لرقابة البنك المركزي أو أي مؤسسة يصرح لها بإجراء التحويلات النقدية أو المدفوعات الإلكترونية وفقاً لأحكام القوانين النافذة) بممارسة نشاط أعمال نظم الدفع والتسوية الإلكترونية الخاضع لرقابة وإشراف بنك الكويت المركزي بموجب القانون رقم (20) لسنة 2014 في شأن المعاملات الإلكترونية، وذلك من خلال مزاولي النشاط ووكلائهم، وفق التعريف التالي:

مزاول النشاط:

كل مؤسسة مالية تأخذ شكل شركة مساهمة تم قيدها بسجل مزاولي النشاط ووكلائهم ببنك الكويت المركزي للقيام بكل أو بعض أوجه النشاط سواء المتعلقة بتشغيل نظم الدفع والتسوية الإلكترونية أو تقديم الخدمات أو أية أعمال أخرى ذات صلة، بحيث تكون التسوية النهائية من خلال البنوك المحلية.

الوكلاء:

كل مؤسسة مالية تأخذ شكل شركة مساهمة أو ذات مسؤولية محدودة تم قيدها بسجل مزاولي النشاط ووكلائهم ببنك الكويت المركزي للقيام بكل أو بعض أعمال مزاول النشاط بالوكالة.


وتخضع نظم المدفوعات في دولة الكويت للقوانين السارية (مثل قانون البنك المركزي وقانون المعاملات الإلكترونية) واللوائح والتنظيمات والاتفاقيات الخاصة التي تتم فيما بين الأطراف المعنية بتشغيل وتقديم خدمات نظم المدفوعات.